​​Hot Spot yoga school

​​What you will learn:

  • ​The traditional Primary Series with breath and counts
  • Led Primary Series Vinyasa
  • How to practice independently, "Mysore Style"
  • How to recognize alignment errors and corrections
  • ​Basic anatomy of movement within the primary series
    • focus ROM knees, hips, and shoulders
  • Recognize when and how to adjust and assist students
  • Sanskrit for postures and counts
  • Yoga Sutras of Patanjali 
    • ​8 limbs of yoga
  • Diet and Lifestyle to sustain an Ashtanga practice (Ayurveda)
  • How and which postures connect with and open the chakras.
  • Traditional Pranayama sequence
  • ​How to transition into western guided vinyasa class.

​What is Ashtanga Yoga?

This yoga system consists of 6 series. The Ashtanga Primary (First Series) is designed to restore the body to its original state, which can take a lifetime for some people.  You progress through the original "Mysore Style" at your own pace.  Additional postures are given  based on the students ability. The first series is very beneficial at opening the hips and hamstrings.  2nd series is more beneficial to the spine. This method is also where the modern day vinyasa (breath based) practice is derived from. Most likely if you are practicing this modern western style of yoga, it is primarily for fitness or exercise.  Many of the benefits are lost when the sequence and postures are changed, as is the magic.  Sometimes in America, we think we can improve a flawless system. 

More information about the program.​

Ashtanga Yoga

As taught by Sri Pattabhi Jois in the tradition of Krishnamacharya

The foundation of all Vinyasa or Power Yoga as we know it today


Purity is found close to the source